Tag Archives: Jonathan Rothschild

Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild’s 2016 “State of the City” address

Two term Mayor Jonathan Rothschild delivered his annual “State of the City” address today at the Tucson Convention Center. Here’s the entirety of his speech, as a hyperlink.


In the past I had to copy the pages of the Mayor’s speech from pdf, convert to jpg (each page) and tediously copy them into this text. So this year, I am just providing the link to the Mayor’s website, www.mayorrothschild.com, for you to read his speech:


6th Annual Rodeo Days Arts Celebration at Plaza Palomino


Whoopee! It’s that time again for Rodeo Days at Plaza Palomino, 2900 N. Swan Rd. (SE corner of Swan Rd. x Ft. Lowell Rd.) Here’s the exciting schedule for Saturday Feb. 27:

10AM – 5PM Free and open to the public

10:15-11:45 Mariachi Herradura

12:00-12:45 Quick Draw with Mayor Jonathan Rothschild and Fmr. Mayor Bob Walkup and other Tucson notables

1:00-3:00 The Bill Ganz Western Band

3:00-3:15 Cowboy Costume Contest – Fmr. Mayor Bob Walkup judges

3:15-3:45 Ballet Folklorico

3:45-5:00 Arizona Dance Hands

ALL DAY: Artists Artists Artists!

ALL DAY: Farmers’ Market – in the courtyard and promenade. Outside of the plaza 10AM-2PM

ALL DAY: Beer from Nimbus Brewing Company, Whiskey Del Bac tasting with Hamilton Distillers, Three Wells spirit tasting

ALL DAY: Food Trucks – You Sly Dog and Crush Gourmet Raspados

11:00-5:00 MECHANICAL BULL RIDING! Safe – imagine a roofless jumping castle with a mechanical bull in the middle! Slow controls…can moderate to your riding adventure!

Info at: www. plazapalomino.com.

Tucson 2015 General Election results – updated

Up for re-election this year were Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild, with only token opposition from 3 Independent write in candidates, plus three Tucson City Councilmembers: Ward 1 Regina Romero, Ward 2 Paul Cunningham and Ward 4 Shirley Scott.

Election results:


Jonathan Rothschild (D)   52,805 (winner)

Write in –  3722

All 3 Democrats are leading in the Council races, likely winners:

Ward 1:

Bill Hunt (R)   29,025

Regina Romero (D) , incumbent  38,753  (winner)

Ward 2:

Paul Cunningham (D), incumbent  38,539 (winner)

Kelly Lawton (R)  29,067

Ward 4:

Margaret Burkholder (R)  30,154

Shirley Scott (D), incumbent  37,406  (winner)

Continue reading

Watch Zona Politics’ candidate debates for Tucson City Council races in Wards 1, 2, 4

Over these past weeks, Tucson Weekly senior writer Jim Nintzel, host of Zona Politics (TV show on Sunday mornings at 8 a.m.) interviewed all the candidates running for election in the Tucson City Council races.  Here’s a recap of the debates, in case you don’t know whom to vote for:

Ward 1 on Sunday Sept. 13:  incumbent, 2 term Democrat Regina Romero vs.
Republican challenger Bill Hunt:


Ward 2 on Sunday Sept. 20: incumbent 1 term Democrat Paul Cunningham vs. Republican challenger Kelly Lawton:


Continue reading

Watch AZPM Metro Week – Ward 4 Council candidates and Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild

Last week AZPM Metro Week host Andrea Kelly interviewed the four candidates running for Wards 1 and 2 on the Tucson Citizen Council: /ciy:http://blogforarizona.net/watch-azpm-metro-week-ward-1-and-ward-2-council-candidates/

This week on Channel 6 she interviewed Democratic Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild, running unopposed, except for three NOP/Independent write in candidates (Joshua Jude Chesser, Charles Philips, Paula Huff).

Kelly also interviewed the 2 candidates running for Ward 4 on the Tucson City Council:


Margaret Burkholder, Republican challenger

ShirleyScott, Democrat, incumbent 4 terms

City of Tucson official candidate listings: https://www.tucsonaz.gov/files/clerks/Candidate.Listing.pdf. Deadline for write in candidates for the General Election is 5 p.m. on September 24.

Vote wisely on or before Nov. 3, 2015. Vote by mail ballots will be mailed out on Oct. 8, 2015.

2015 City of Tucson primary election results

Go to City of Tucson Elections website for official results: https://www.tucsonaz.gov/apps/elections/current.html

32,411 voters cast their ballots out of a total of 225,747 registered voters (14.4%). Here’s the results:

Mayor Jonathan Rothschild (D)  22,068

No Republican candidate for Mayor

Democratic primary – Council races

Ward 1 Regina Romero  3,437

Ward 2 Paul Cunningham 4,850

Ward 4 Shirley Scott 3,125

Republican primary – Council races

Ward 1 Bill Hunt 815

Ward 2 Kelly Lawton 4,073

Ward 4 Margaret Burkholder  2,851

The primary election is ward only, but the General election on Nov. 3, 2015 is city-wide.

Check our image Calendar for upcoming Council candidates forums in September and October.