Tucson Unified School District Governing Board President Adelita Grijalva is not running for re-election on their School Board after serving 5 terms (20 years). Featured photo is of Adelita, who was elected to the Pima County Board of Supervisors for District 5 in 2020.  Also not running for re-election after one term is educator Leila Counts.

Other board members currently sitting are Clerk Natalie Luna Rose (Communications mgr. at AZ Center for Disability Law), Dr. Ravi Shah (executive director of SAAF), and Sadie Shaw (teacher/artist). All of these remaining board members were elected in Nov. 2020.

There are six candidates running in the General Election 2022 on this Board for these 2 open seats (non partisan, volunteer positions):


Brieanna Chillious, Children’s librarian, Pima County Public Library

Brie Chillious for TUSD Governing Board (facebook.com)

Brie Chillious

Jennifer Eckstrom, former Mayor & Councilmember of South Tucson & Chief of Staff for D 2 Pima County Supervisor Ramon Valadez; daughter of former Pima County Supervisor Dan Eckstrom (District 2)

HOME | Jennifer E 4 TUSD

Jennifer Eckstrom

Luis A. Gonzales, former State Senator & Pima Community College Governing Bd. member (District 5)

Luis A. Gonzales is running for the Governing Board of TUSD (gonzales4tusd.com)

Luis A. Gonzales


Val Romero, businessman, ran as Independent candidate for Ward 6 Council in Nov. 2021

Vote Val Romero for Tucson (facebook.com)


Val Romero

William Soland, attorney, Pima County Public Defender‘s office

William R. Soland for TUSD School Board (facebook.com)


William Soland


Rebecca Zapien, community liaison, UA College of Education

Zapien for TUSD (zapien4tusd.com)

Rebecca Zapien


Stay tuned for any candidate forums for these 6 running for the 2 open seats. And congratulations to Adelita for serving 2 decades on this sometimes contentious board.   Vote wisely on or before Nov 8, 2022.