City of Tucson General Election results 2019 – updated


City of Tucson Elections Dept. has posted the early unofficial results from the 2019 General Election:

Turnout was 33.46% on Election Night.

Updated after counting of provisional ballots on Nov. 8.Turnout was 37.11%.

Mayor of Tucson:

Ed Ackerley (I)  37,105

Mike Cease (G)  3734

Regina Romero (D)  52,586

There is no Republican candidate for Mayor.

Ward 1 Council:

Sam Nagy (R)  34,842

Mathew Smith (G)  4589

Lane Santa Cruz (D)  53,975

Ward 2 Council:

Paul Cunningham (incumbent, D)  56,303

William Peterson (G) 5047

Ewart Williams (R)  32,339

Ward 4 Council:

Cara Bissell (G)  4514

Michael Hicks (R)  35,247

Nikki Lee (D)  53,875

Proposition 205 (Sanctuary City):

Yes  27,186

No   64,341

Proposition 409 (raises for Mayor & Council):

Yes  37,063

No  53,590

Congratulations to the Democratic winners of the races for Mayor, Ward 1, 2 and 4 Council seats.  Regina Romero is the first Hispanic woman Mayor of Tucson, and the first woman Mayor.  Swearing in will be on Dec. 2nd at the TCC — see our Calendar listing for details.



  1. Attending tonight’s historic Dem party at the Hotel Congress: Congressmembers Raul Grijalva (CD3) & Ann Kirkpatrick (CD2), former Congressman Ron Barber, District 5 Supervisor Richard Elias, former Supes Dan Eckstrom and Ray Carroll, LD 9 State Senator Victoria Steele, LD 9 Rep. Pam Powers Hannley, LD 10 Rep. Domingo DeGrazia, LD 2 Rep. Rosanna Gabaldon, LD 3 Rep. Andres Cano, former Ward 3 Councilwoman Karin Uhlich, TUSD Bd. member Kristel Foster, former TUSD Bd. member Cam Juarez, and Ward 4 Councilwoman Shirley Scott, who spoke of the historic “herstory” with Regina posed to become the next Mayor of Tucson. Also attending were candidates Jonathan Mosher for Pima County Atty., Dr. Ravi Grivois-Shah for TUSD Board, Brian Bickel for Pima County Treasurer, and new TUSD Bd. member Bruce Burke.

Comments are closed.