Pima County races in the General Election 2016


Now that the Arizona primary is done, here’s the list of match ups for the races in Pima County, for the General Election 2016.

Pima County Assessor

incumbent Bill Staples (D) vs. Suzanne Droubie (I)

Pima County Attorney

incumbent Barbara LaWall (D) vs. Cyndi Tuell (G)

Pima County Recorder

incumbent F. Ann Rodriguez (D) vs. Mike Cease (G)

Pima County School Superintendent  (open seat)

Dustin Williams (D) vs. Margaret Burkholder (R)

Pima County Sheriff

incumbent Chris Nanos (D) vs. Mark Napier (R)

Pima County Treasurer

incumbent Beth Ford (R), unopposed

Pima County Supervisor District 1

incumbent Ally Miller (R) vs. Brian Bickel (D)

Pima County Supervisor District 2

incumbent Ramon Valadez (D), unopposed

Pima County Supervisor District 3

incumbent Sharon Bronson (D) vs. Kim DeMarco (R)

Pima County Supervisor District 4 (open seat)

Steve Christy  (R) vs. Josh Riley (G)

Pima County Supervisor District 5

incumbent Richard Elias (D) vs. Martin Bastidas (G)

Vote wisely on or before Nov. 8, 2016. Early voting starts Oct. 12, 2016.

Voter registration totals for Pima County (from Pima County Recorder’s office):

Democrats 193,987; Republicans 156,753; Libertarians 3893; Greens 1588; Others (Independents) 159,203.


Previous articleI Won! (video)
Next articleAugust jobs report ‘not too hot, not too cold’
Carolyn Classen
Carolyn Sugiyama Classen, a life long Democrat, was born & raised in the State of Hawaii, was a Legislative Aide for U.S. Senator Daniel K. Inouye on Capitol Hill, and practiced law for a while. In Tucson she worked as a tribal staff attorney for the Pascua Yaqui Tribe and later was the Interim Executive Director of the now defunct Domestic Violence Commission. In 2008 she became a “My Tucson” guest columnist for the Tucson Citizen newspaper, then continued blogging for Tucsoncitizen.com for over four and a half years. Her blogsite was entitled “Carolyn’s Community” about community events and some political news, until Gannett Publishing shut down the site on January 31, 2014. She started with Blog for Arizona on Feb. 11, 2014. Part time she has been sitting as a Hearing Officer in Pima County Consolidated Justice Courts Small Claims Division since April, 2005. She is married to University of Arizona Distinguished Professor Albrecht Classen, a native of Germany. They have one son, who lives in Seattle, WA with his wife and daughter. She is also the Editor of the Southern Arizona Japanese Cultural Coalition website, www.southernazjapan.org (since Jan. 2013).