Who’s running for Pima Community College Governing Board in 2016? (updated)


Three Pima Community College Governing Bd. positions (volunteer, nonpartisan) are up for election in the General election on Nov. 8, 2016.  Districts 2, 4 and 5 are up for election. Today was the filing deadline for any write in candidates, so this is the unofficial list of candidates.

Who’s running:

District 2 (1 seat)

UPDATE: this election in District 2 has been cancelled and Clinco is the only remaining candidate.

–Demion Clinco, former state representative in LD 2, President of Tucson Historic Preservation Foundation, appointed to this seat in  Dec. 2015, incumbent, www.clinco4az.com

–Paul Diaz, former Mayor of South Tucson from 2011 to 2015 (recalled in May 2015)

District 4 (1 seat – open)

incumbent Scott Stewart not seeking re-election

Meredith Hay, former UA Provost & Executive Vice President, Professor in the UA College of Medicine

District 5 (special term, 1 seat)

–Martha Durkin, appointed to this seat in Aug. 2015,  former Deputy City Mgr. of City of Tucson, incumbent, https://www.facebook.com/durkinpcc/

–Luis Armando Gonzales, former State Senator & Mgr. of City of South Tucson,  former CEO of Arizona Native Ventures LLC, www.gonzales4pcc.com

–Dr. Francis Saitta, former math/science adjunct teacher at PCC; former candidate for PCC Governing Bd. in 2012 and TUSD Governing Bd. in 2014, www.saittadigest.org

Info on 5 member PCC Governing Board: https://www.pima.edu/about-pima/board-of-governors/board-members.html. The other two board members are Sylvia Lee (term up in 2018) and Mark Hanna (term up in 2020).

Stay tuned for further info/updates on these candidates, including campaign websites for those not listed.

Vote wisely on or before Nov. 8, 2016.


Comments are closed.