City of Tucson Elections Department has posted the list of candidates who submitted nomination petitions to run for Tucson Mayor (open seat) and City Council in Ward 1 (open seat), Ward 2, Ward 4 (open seat) in the City elections for the Primary on August 27, 2019.

The General will be on November 5, 2019. Deadline to file petitions for the Primary was today at 5 p.m.

Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild is stepping down after 2 terms. Ward 1 Councilmember Regina Romero is running for Mayor (instead of re-election in her ward), and Ward 4 Councilmember Shirley Scott is retiring after 5 terms on the Council.



Tucson Mayor:


Randi Dorman

Former LD 9 State Senator Steve Farley

Ward 1 Councilmember Regina Romero

No Republicans filed

Ward 1:


Rob Elias

Sami Hamed

Miguel Ortega

Dr. Lane Santa Cruz

No Republicans filed

Ward 2:

Councilman Paul Cunningham (D), incumbent

Ewart Williams, Jr. (R)

Ward 4:

Nikki Lee (D)

Former TUSD Board member Michael Hicks (R)


List of candidates at City of Tucson Elections:

Vote wisely on or before the August 27, 2019 primary. The 4-way race in Ward 1 Council will be decided in the primary.

Independent candidate Ed Ackerley (uncle of former LD 2 House Rep. Chris Ackerley) is running for Mayor in the General Election, slated for November 5, 2019.  He will face off with the winner of the Democratic primary.