Tag Archives: primary election

Register to Vote for City of Tucson August primary

“Voter Registration Deadline Approaching  
The voter registration deadline for the City of Tucson’s Aug. 29 primary election is next Monday, July 31. Those wishing to register to vote should contact the Pima County Recorder’s Office at (520) 724-4330, or follow the link below. The City of Tucson election information publication, “The Choice Is Yours,” will be mailed Aug. 2, and ballots for the mail-in election will be sent to registered voters on Aug. 9. The materials will be sent only to voters in contested wards (3, 5, and 6).
Register to vote via ServiceArizona: http://bit.ly/2pyzIGb
Tucson City Clerk’s vote-by-mail calendar: http://bit.ly/2sYqJAJ
Pima County Recorder: http://bit.ly/2bj0xsD.”
Many thanks to Ward 3 Councilmember Karin Uhlich for this info above sent out in her weekly newsletter. There is a Dem primary in her race, as she is retiring after 3 terms. Check our website for information on the 3 candidates: Felicia Chew, political newcomer; Paul Durham (former Chief of State for Ward 6 Councilmember Nina Trasoff); and Tom Tronsdal, political newcomer.
Another contested race is in Ward 6 with 2 Green Party candidates vying for their nomination for the Council: Mike Cease (Chair of the Green Party of Pima County) and Michael Oatman. They are having a candidate forum for the Green Party of Pima County on August 1st. See our Calendar for details.
Vote wisely on or before August 29, 2017.

Council candidates for 2017 City of Tucson primary election

May 31, 2017 was the deadline for the filing of those who will be running for Ward 3, 5 and 6 in the City of Tucson Council races. There will be a Democratic primary in Ward 3  and a Green Party primary in Ward 6, as the other candidates are unopposed in their primaries.  Councilman Richard Fimbres faces no opposition at all for his seat in Ward 5.

Here’s the list of who filed nomination petitions: https://www.tucsonaz.gov/files/clerks/Candidate_Listing.pdf

Ward 3  (open seat, as Democratic Councilmember Karin Uhlich is retiring)

Felicia Chew (D), teacher at Mansfeld Middle School

Paul Durham (D), attorney, former Chief of Staff for Councilmember Nina Trasoff

Thomas Tronsdal (D), owner of Canyon Fence Company, also an attorney

Gary Watson (I), employed at Northwest Fire Department as a firefighter

Ward 5

Councilmember Richard Fimbres (D, 2 terms), unopposed

Ward 6

Councilmember Steve Kozachik, (D, 2 terms)

Mariano Rodriguez (R), architect

Mike Cease (G), Chair of Pima County Green Party Steering Committee, ran unsuccessfully for Pima County Recorder in Nov. 2016

Michael Oatman (G), candidate for U.S. President in 2008 as a Democrat, and in 2012 as a Green

Stay tuned for upcoming primary election forums for these candidates in Ward 3 and Ward 6. The City of Tucson primary will be on August 29, 2017.



Arizona Women’s Political Caucus 2016 primary election endorsements



The Arizona Women’s Political Caucus is proud to announce our
2016 Primary Election Candidate Endorsements.
Please help us in congratulating all our endorsed candidates and be sure to click on the links below to learn more about the candidates in your district and how you can help push them to victory!
If you are unsure about your district click here.

*Designates incumbent or Previously Endorsed

Pima County Races:

  • Pima County Board of Supervisors District 3
  • Pima County Attorney                                   
  • Pima County Recorder                                  
    • F. Ann Rodriguez*

Arizona Legislature:
LD 2

LD 3

  • Senate              Olivia Cajero Bedford*

LD 4

LD 6

LD 8

LD 9

LD 10

LD 11

LD 16

LD 17

LD 18

LD 23

LD 24

LD 25

LD 27

LD 28

As a multi partisan organization and affiliate of the National Women’s Political Caucus, AWPC works across party boundaries to gain equality; whether a candidate is Republican, Democrat or Independent, we support pro-choice candidates and officials in elected and appointed office.

Thank you for your continued support. Your commitment has helped AWPC make a positive difference in Arizona politics since 1971!

Together we are changing the face of Arizona politics!


Stephanie Coronado, AWPC State President