Arizona Reps. Biggs, Gosar, Lesko Vote To Approve Easing Russian Sanctions (READ Resolution)


Three of Arizona’s four Republicans in the U.S. House voted this afternoon against a resolution disapproving of President Trump’s recent move to ease sanctions on some Russian entities. The resolution was overwhelmingly approved by both Democrats and Repubicans and passed 362-53.

However, Reps. Paul Gosar (R-CD4), Andy Biggs (R-CD5) and Debbie Lesko (R-CD8) joined 50 other Republicans in refusing to disapprove of Trump’s December action. Rep. David Schweikert (R-CD6) was the only Arizona Republican joining the majority.

The text of the resolution is simple enough that it can be captured in a single screen shot (below). The Senate voted on the resolution earlier this week, but the 57-42 majority failed to reach the 3/5 necessary; both of Arizona’s Senators voted their disapproval of easing sanctions on Russian oligarch Oleg Deripaska.

The three have not yet released statements explaining their vote.

Support volunteer citizen journalism at the Blog for Arizona with a donation today. Your secure contribution keeps the Blog online and sustains a free press in Arizona.