General Election Candidates


ArizonaA number of races were decided in the August 30 Primary Election, barring the entry of a late write-in candidate, as you will find below. There are still a number of hotly contested races in the November General Election.

The CD 5 GOP primary for Congress was a photo finish and is subject to an automatic recount by law. The winner is not yet decided.

You can register to vote at Arizona Voter Registration – ServiceArizona. Monday, October 10 is the deadline to register for the general election on November 8. Early voting in the general election begins on Wednesday, October 12.


District 1

Karen Fann (R) Senate
Peter Pierson (D) House
Noel Campbell (R) House
David Stringer (R) House
Haryaksha Knauer (GRN) House

District 2

Andrea Dalessandro (D) Senate
Shelly Kais (R) Senate
Rosanna Gabaldon (D) House
Daniel Hernandez (D) House
John Ackerley (R) House

District 3

Olivia Cajero Bedford (D) Senate
Macario Saldate (D) House
Sally Ann Gonzales (D) House
Edward “Trey” Cizek (GRN) House

District 4

Lisa Otondo (D) Senate
Charlene Fernandez (D) House
Jesus Rubalcava (D) House

District 5

Sonny Borelli (R) Senate
Beth Weisser (D) House
Regina Cobb (R) House
Paul Mosley (R) House
Leo Biasiucci (GRN) House

District 6

Nikki Bagley (D) Senate
Sylvia Allen (R) Senate
Alex Martinez (D) House
Brenda Barton (R) House
Robert Thorpe (R) House

District 7

Jamescita Peshlakai (D) Senate
Wenona Benally (D) House
Eric Descheenie (D) House

District 8

Barbara McGuire (D) Senate
Frank Pratt (R) Senate
Carmen Casillas (D) House
Thomas Shope (R) House
David Cook (R) House

District 9

Steve Farley (D) Senate
Randall Friese (D) House
Pamela Powers Hannley (D) House
Ana Henderson (R) House

District 10

David Bradley ( D) Senate
Randall Phelps (R) Senate
Kirsten Engel (D) House
Stefanie Mach (D) House
Todd Clodfelter (R) House

District 11

Ralph Atchue (D) Senate
Steve Smith (R) Senate
Corin Hammond (D) House
Mark Finchem (R) House
Vince Leach (R) House

District 12

Elizabeth Brown (D) Senate
Warren Peterson (R) Senate
Eddie Farnsworth (R) House
Travis Grantham (R) House

District 13

Steve Montenegro (R) Senate
Iisha Graves (D) House
Don Shooter (R) House
Darin Mitchell (R) House

District 14

Jaime Alvarez (D) Senate
Gail Griffin (R) Senate
Mike Holmes (D) House
Jason Lindstrom (D) House
Drew John (R) House
Becky Ann Nutt (R) House

District 15

Tonya MacBeth (D) Senate
Nancy Barto (R) Senate
Brandon Dwyer (D) House
John Allen (R) House
Heather Carter (R) House

District 16

Scott Prior (D) Senate
David Farnsworth (R) Senate
Cara Lee Prior (D) House
Sharon Stinard (D) House
Doug Coleman (R) House
Kelly Townsend (R) House

District 17

Steven Weichert (D) Senate
Steve Yarbrough (R) Senate
Jennifer Pawlik (D) House
J.D. Mesnard (R) House
Jeff Weninger (R) House

District 18

Sean Bowie (D) Senate
Frank Schmuck (R) Senate
Denise “Mitzi” Epstein (D) House
Jill Norgaard (R) House
Bob Robson (R) House
Linda Macias (GRN) House

District 19

Guadalupe “Lupe” Contreras (D) Senate
Mark Cardenas (D) House
Diego Espinoza (D) House

District 20

Larry Herrera (D) Senate
Kimberly Yee (R) Senate
Doug Quelland (IND) Senate – on general election ballot
Christopher “Chris” Gilfillan (D) House
Paul Boyer (R) House
Anthony Kern (R) House

District 21

Debbie Lesko ( R) Senate
Deanna Rasmussen-Lacotta (D) House
Kevin Payne (R) House
Jose Rivero (R) House

District 22

Michael Muscato (D) Senate
Judy Burges (R) Senate
Manuel Hernandez (D) House
David Livingston (R) House
Phil Lovas (R) House

District 23

John Kavanagh (R) Senate
Tammy Caputi (D) House
Jay Lawrence (R) House
Michelle Ugenti-Rita (R) House

District 24

Katie Hobbs (D) Senate
Lela Alston (D) House
Ken Clark (D) House

District 25

Robert Worsley (R) Senate
Kathleen Rahn (D) House
Rusty Bowers (R) House
Michelle Udall (R) House

District 26

Juan Mendez (D) Senate
Michael Martinez (D) House
Athena Salman (D) House
isela Blanc (D) House
Steven Adkins (R) House
Cara Trujillo (GRN) House

District 27

Catherine Miranda (D) Senate
David Braun (D) House
Reginald Bolding (D) House
Rebecca Rios (D) House

District 28

Eric Meyer (D) Senate
Kate Brophy McGee (R) Senate
Kelli Butler (D) House
Mary Hamway (R) House
Maria Syms (R) House

District 29

Martín Quezada (D) Senate
Crystal Nuttle (R) Senate
Richard Andrade (D) House
Cesar Chavez (D) House
Roberto Alfaro (R) House
John Wilson (R) House

District 30

Robert Meza (D) Senate
John Lyon (R) Senate
Ray Martinez (D) House
Otoniel “Tony” Navarrete (D) House
Gary Cox (R) House


Tom Chabin (D)
Bill Mundell (D)
Robert Burns (R)
Andy Tobin (R)
Boyd Dunn (R)


For a complete list of state judges up for judicial retention this year, see Arizona Commission onJudicial Performance Review.


Ann Kirkpatrick (D)
John McCain (R)


District 1

Tom O’Halleran (D)
Paul Babeu (R)

District 2

Matthew Heinz (D)
Martha McSally (R)

District 3

Raúl Grijalva (D)

District 4

Mikel Weisser (D)
Paul Gosar (R)

District 5

Talia Fuentes (D)
Andy Biggs (R)*
Christine Jones (R)*

* Automatic recount after primary

District 6

Walter John Williamson (D)
David Schweikert (R)

District 7

Ruben Gallego (D)
Evangeline “Eve” Nunez (R)

District 8

Trent Franks (R)

District 9

Kyrsten Sinema (D)
David Giles (R)

Presidential Electors

Hillary Clinton (D)
Donald Trump (R)
Gary Johnson (LIB)
Jill Stein (GRN)

Previous article“Native Activism: Past to Present” at the Loft
Next articleCitizens Clean Elections Debate Schedule – General Election
AZ BlueMeanie
The Blue Meanie is an Arizona citizen who wishes, for professional reasons, to remain anonymous when blogging about politics. Armed with a deep knowledge of the law, politics and public policy, as well as pen filled with all the colors stolen from Pepperland, the Blue Meanie’s mission is to pursue and prosecute the hypocrites, liars, and fools of politics and the media – which, in practical terms, is nearly all of them. Don’t even try to unmask him or he’ll seal you in a music-proof bubble and rendition you to Pepperland for a good face-stomping. Read blog posts by the infamous and prolific AZ Blue Meanie here.