Preliminary Primary Results: State Offices


 Votes are still being counted, but the primary election is mostly over. Some races are still as yet too close to call.

According to the Secretary of State, voter turnout was a shamefully pathetic 25.82%. You are an embarrassment to democracy, Arizona. You have to start doing better.

Incumbent Secretary of State Michelle Reagan, incumbent Corporation Commissioner Tom Forese, and apparently incumbent Superintendent of Public Instruction Dianne Douglas, three highly controversial figures, have been defeated in their GOP primary.

Citizens Clean Elections candidate (CCE).

Arizona Legislature

District 1

Jo Craycraft (D) Senate (CCE)
Karen Fann (R) Senate

Ed Gogek (D) House (CCE)
Jan Manolis (D) House (CCE)
Noel Campbell (R) House
David Stringer (R) House

District 2

Andrea Dalessandro (D) Senate (CCE)
Shelley Kais (R) Senate

Rosanna Gabaldón (D) House (CCE)
Daniel Hernandez, Jr. (D) House
Christopher Ackerley (R) House
Anthony Sizer (R) House (CCE)

District 3

Sally Ann Gonzales (D) Senate (CCE)

Andres Cano (D) House
Alma Hernandez (D) House Leads
Olivia Cajero Bedford (D) House (CCE)

Beryl Baker (GRN) House

District 4

Lisa Otondo (D) Senate

Charlene Fernandez (D) House
Geraldine Peten (D) House (CCE)

Sara Mae Williams (GRN) House

District 5

J’amie Morgaine (D) Senate (CCE)
Sonny Borelli (R) Senate

Mary McCord (D) House (CCE)
Leo Biasiucci (R) House
Regina Cobb (R) House

District 6

Wade Carlisle (D) Senate
Sylvia Allen (R) Senate

Felicia French (D) House
Robert “Bobby” Tyler (D) House
Walter “Walt” Blackman (R) House
Robert “Bob” Thorpe (R) House

District 7

Jamescita Peshlakai (D) Senate
John Mealer (R) Senate

Arlando Teller (D) House
Myron Tsosie (D) House
Doyel Shamley (R) House

District 8

Sharon Girard (D) Senate (CCE)
Frank Pratt (R) Senate

Carmen Casillas (D) House (CCE)
Linda Gross (D) House (CCE)
David Cook (R) House
Thomas “T.J.” Shope, Jr. (R) House

District 9

Victoria Steele (D) Senate (CCE)

Randall Friese (D) House
Pamela Powers Hannley (D) House (CCE)
Ana Henderson (R) House

District 10

David Bradley (D) Senate
Marilyn Wiles (R) Senate

Kirsten Engel (D) House
Domingo DeGrazia (D) House Leads
Catherine Ripley (D) House
Todd Clodfelter (R) House

District 11

Ralph Atchue (D) Senate (CCE)
Vince Leach (R) Senate

Hollace Lyon (D) House
Marcela Quiroz (D) House
Mark Finchem (R) House
Bret Roberts (R) House (CCE)

District 12

Elizabeth Brown (D) Senate (CCE)
Eddie Farnsworth (R) Senate

Joseph Bisaccia (D) House (CCE)
Lynsey Robinson (D) House (CCE)
Travis Grantham (R) House
Warren Peterson (R) House

District 13

Mary-Katherine “Michelle” Harris (D) Senate (CCE)
Sine Kerr (R) Senate

Vasle “Thomas” Tzitzura (D) House
Timothy Dunn (R) House
Joanne Osborne (R) House

District 14

Jaime Alvarez (D) Senate (CCE)
David Gowan (R) Senate

Robert “Bob” Karp (D) House (CCE)
Shelley Renne-Leon (D) House
Gail Griffin (R) House
Becky Nutt (R) House

District 15

Kristin Dybvig-Pawelko (D) Senate (CCE)
Heather Carter (R) Senate

Jennifer Samuels (D) House (CCE)
Julie Gunnigle (D) House Leads
Tonya MacBeth (D) House (CCE)
John Allen (R) House
Nancy Barto (R) House

District 16

Ben Carmitchel (D) Senate (CCE)
David Farnsworth (R) Senate

Sharon Stinard (D) House
John Fillmore (R) House
Kelly Townsend (R) House

District 17

Steven Weichert (D) Senate
J.D. Mesnard (R) Senate

Jennifer Pawlik (D) House
Nora Ellen (R) House
Jeff Weninger (R) House

District 18

Sean Bowie (D) Senate
Frank Schmuck (R) Senate

Denise “Mitzi” Epstein (D) House
Jennifer Jermaine (D) House
Jill Norgaard (R) House
Greg Patterson (R) House

District 19

Lupe Chavira Conteras (D) Senate

Jose Diego Espinoza (D) House
Lorenzo Sierra (D) House

District 20

Douglas Ervin (D) Senate (CCE)
Paul Boyer (R) Senate

Elaine Chandler (D) House (CCE)
Christopher Gilfillan (D) House (CCE)
Shawnna Bolick (R) House
Anthony Kern (R) House

District 21

Richard “Rick” Gray (R) Senate

Bradley Hughes (D) House (CCE)
Gilbert Romero (D) House (CCE)
Kevin Payne (R) House
Tony Rivero (R) House

District 22

Wendy Garcia (D) Senate (CCE)
David Livingston (R) Senate

Valerie Harris (D) House (CCE)
Teri Sarmiento (D) House
Frank Carroll (R) House (CCE)
Benjamin Toma (R) House

District 23

Daria Lohman (D) Senate (CCE)
Michelle Ugenti-Rita (R) Senate

Eric Kurland (D) House (CCE)
John Kavanagh (R) House
Jay Lawrence (R) House

District 24

Lela Alston (D) Senate
Vickie Alger (R) Senate

Amish Shaw (D) House
Jennifer Longdon (D) House Leads
Ken Clark (D) House
David Alger (R) House

District 25

Kathy Mohr-Almeida (D) Senate (CCE)
Tyler Pace (R) Senate

Johnny Martin (D) House (CCE)
Russell “Rusty” Bowers (R) House
Michelle Udall (R) House

District 26

Juan Mendez (D) Senate (CCE) Leads
Debbie Nez Manuel (D) Senate (CCE)
Rebecca Speakman (R) Senate

Isela Blanc (D) House (CCE)
Athena Salman (D) House (CCE)
Raymond Speakman (R) House

District 27

Rebecca Rios (D) Senate

Reginald Bolding (D) House
Diego Rodriguez (D) House Leads
Roberto Sanchez-Garcia (D) House

District 28

Christine Marsh (D) Senate
Kate Brophie McGee (R) Senate

Kelli Butler (D) House
Aaron Lieberman (D) House
Kathy Pappas Petsas (R) House
Maria Syms (R) House

District 29

Martin Quezada (D) Senate

Richard Andrade (D) House
César Chávez (D) House

District 30

Otonio “Tony” Navarette (D) Senate

Robert Meza, Jr. (D) House
Raquel Teran (D) House
Gary Spears (R) House


David R. Garcia (D)
Gov. Doug Ducey (R)

Secretary of State

Katie Hobbs (D)
Steve Gaynor (R)

Attorney General

January Contreras (D)
Mark Brnovich (R)


Mark Manoil (D) (CCE)
Kimberly Yee (R)

Mine Inspector

Bill Pierce (D) (CCE)
Joe Hart (R)

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Katherine Hoffman (D) (CCE)
Frank D. Riggs (R) Leads
Robert Branch (R)
Diane Douglas (R) (CCE)

Corporation Commission (2 seats)

Sandra Kennedy (D) (CCE)
Kiana Sears (D) (CCE) Leads
Bill Mundell (D) (CCE)
Justin Olson (R)
Rodney Glassman (R) Leads
James O’Connor (R) (CCE)


  1. If you are listing candidates, one independent is in LD 21 State Senate race. Kathy Knecht. She should be supported by everyone in that area over Gray.

  2. Waiting for Republican final results for State Superintendent of Public Instruction to face off with Democrat Kathy Hoffman. Incumbent Diane Douglas seems to be unseated. Also awaiting final results for 2 Democrats for Corporation Commission seats. Not surprised at the defeat of Republican Sec. of State Michele Reagan considering all the criticism and bad publicity her office received these past 4 years.

  3. Thanks for publishing the unofficial results.

    One correction though. In LD14 House race, Democrat Karp is not a CCE candidates, but Renne-Leon is a CCE candidate. Slight typo there.


Comments are closed.