Arizona State Appropriation Committe

Arizona State Appropriation Committee

The APS and their supporters at the Capitol are back with another proposal to subvert the initiative process and confuse voters. Late last week, HCR2017 was subject to a strike-everything amendment, offered by Senator John Kavanagh.

HCR2017 would now propose a constitutional amendment virtually identical to the “Clean Energy for a Healthy Arizona” initiative, but with a loophole that would allow the Corporation Commission to not actually increase the renewable energy standards. Under HCR2017, the Corporation Commission would NOT be bound to enforce higher renewable energy standards.

Designed to confuse voters

The amendment is designed to confuse voters. Even its name is nearly identical to the original initiative. This underhanded trick is absolutely shameless and shows total contempt for the initiative process.

HCR2017 will be heard in the Senate Appropriations Committee at 2 p.m. TODAY, Tuesday, March 27th.  My state senator Steve Farley (from district 9) is on that committee, so I e-mailed him this morning. (See below.). If you live in any of the members’ districts, please contact them to voice your opinion.

There is still time for you to write your senator and/or register your opposition on the Request to Speak system before the meeting.

Directions for Request to Speak here: https://desktopactivisttucson.blogspot.com/2018/03/request-to-speak-time.html

If you aren’t sure which district you live in, you can find out herehttps://www.azleg.gov/findmylegislator/

John Kavanagh (Chair) LD 23 R (602) 926-5170 jkavanagh@azleg.gov
Warren Peterson (Vice Chair) LD 17 R (602) 926-4136 wpetersen@azleg.gov
Karen Fann LD 1 R (602) 926-5874 kfann@azleg.gov
Sonny Borrelli LD 5 R (602) 926-5051 sborrelli@azleg.gov
Sylvia Allen LD 6 R (602) 926-5409 sallen@azleg.gov
Steve Smith LD 11 R (602) 926-5685 stsmith@azleg.gov
Olivia Cajero Bedford LD 3 D (602) 926-5835 ocajerobedford@azleg.gov
Steve Farley LD 9 D (602) 926-3022 sfarley@azleg.gov
Katie Hobbs LD 24 D (602) 926-5325 khobbs@azleg.gov
Martin Quezada LD 29 D (602) 926-5911 mquezada@azleg.gov

Use the legislature’s Request to Speak system to log in and voice your opinion on these bills. If you don’t have a Request to Speak account yet, sign up for one here

Feel free to use my e-mail as a starting point. But, please, rewrite it a bit leaving out that you met with him at Environmental Day if you didn’t.

Note: If you have a Republican senator, you might want to tell them that you value the initiative process guaranteed by the Arizona Constitution and urge them to oppose the amendment on the grounds that it is unconstitutional.

My letter for inspiration: 

Dear Senator Farley,

When we met with you in your office during Environmental Day, I promised to put together a group of sustainability advocates who would support your actions in protecting our environment. I have since put together that group and I’m proud to say that it is growing every day.

Today I am writing to show our support of your opposition to HCR 2017. As you know, Senator John Kavanagh offered a strike-everything amendment to HCR 2017 that proposes a constitutional amendment nearly identical to the “Clean Energy for a Healthy Arizona” initiative, but with a loophole that would allow the Corporation Commission to not actually increase the renewable energy standards. Under HCR 2017, the Corporation Commission would NOT be bound to enforce higher renewable energy standards and we find that unacceptable. In addition, that amendment is obviously designed to confuse voters. Even its name is nearly identical to the original initiative’s. This kind of underhanded trick shows total contempt for the initiative process detailed in our state constitution.

I wanted to let you know that your constituents are paying attention and we find this kind of trickery unacceptable and the amendment unconstitutional.

Thank you for your support of sound environmental policies and initiatives.

Advertisement