SWAG List of Candidates – 2016 Primary Election


ArizonaHere is the updated “Silly Wild Ass Guess” (SWAG) list of candidates who are running for office in the Arizona Legislature, the Arizona Corporation Commission, and Congress in 2016. I was going to update the list last week, but I had to wait for the Secretary of State to post it, and when she did, you guessed it, she screwed up again. The curious case of candidate cameos. Sigh.

Here is a link to the Secretary of State’s candidate pages. Primary Candidates.

You can register to vote at Arizona Voter Registration – ServiceArizona. Monday, August 1 is the deadline to register for the primary election on August 30. Early voting in the primary election begins August 3.

You can Give $5 Qualifying Contribution at the E-Qual page of the Arizona Secretary of State‘s web site.


District 1

Karen Fann (R) Senate
Peter Pierson (D) House
Noel Campbell (R) House
Arlo “Chip” Davis (R) House
David Stringer (R) House
Haryaksha Knauer (GRN)

District 2

Andrea Dalessandro (D) Senate
Shelly Kais (R) Senate
Aaron Baumann (D) House
Rosanna Gabaldon (D) House
Daniel Hernandez (D) House
John Ackerley (R) House

District 3

Olivia Cajero Bedford (D) Senate
Macario Saldate (D) House
Sally Ann Gonzales (D) House
Edward “Trey” Cizek (GRN) House

District 4

Lisa Otondo (D) Senate
Charlene Fernandez (D) House
Jesus Rubalcava (D) House
Richard Hopkins (R) House write-in candidate

District 5

Sonny Borelli (R) Senate
Ron Gould (R) Senate
Beth Weisser (D) House
Regina Cobb (R) House
Paul Mosley (R) House
Sam Medrano (R) House
Jennifer Jones (R) House
Leo Biasiucci (GRN) House

District 6

Nikki Bagley (D) Senate
Sylvia Allen (R) Senate
Alex Martinez (D) House
Brenda Barton (R) House
Robert Thorpe (R) House

District 7

Jamescita Peshlakai (D) Senate
Candace Begody-Begay (R) Senate
Wenona Benally (D) House
Eric Descheenie (D) House

District 8

Barbara McGuire (D) Senate
Frank Pratt (R) Senate
Carmen Casillas (D) House
Thomas Shope (R) House
David Cook (R) House

District 9

Steve Farley (D) Senate
Randall Friese (D) House
Pamela Powers Hannley (D) House
Matt Kopec (D) House
Ana Henderson (R) House

District 10

David Bradley ( D) Senate
Randall Phelps (R) Senate
Kirsten Engel (D) House
Courtney Frogge (D) House
Stefanie Mach (D) House
Todd Clodfelter (R) House

District 11

Ralph Atchue (D) Senate
Steve Smith (R) Senate
Corin Hammond (D) House
Mark Finchem (R) House
Vince Leach (R) House

District 12

Elizabeth Brown (D) Senate
James Lindblom (R) Senate
Warren Peterson (R) Senate
Eddie Farnsworth (R) House
Travis Grantham (R) House
Lacinda Lewis (R) House

District 13

Diane Landis (R) Senate
William Gonzalez (R) Senate
Steve Montenegro (R) Senate
Iisha Graves (D) House
Don Shooter (R) House
Ray Kouns (R) House
Darin Mitchell (R) House

District 14

Jaime Alvarez (D) Senate
Gail Griffin (R) Senate
Mike Holmes (D) House
Jason Lindstrom (D) House
Dennis Barger (R) House
Drew John (R) House
Becky Ann Nutt (R) House
Anthony Sizer (R) House

District 15

Tonya MacBeth (D) Senate
Nancy Barto (R) Senate
Brandon Dwyer (D) House
John Allen (R) House
Heather Carter (R) House

District 16

Scott Prior (D) Senate
David Farnsworth (R) Senate
Cara Lee Prior (D) House
Sharon Stinard (D) House
Douglas Coleman (R) House
John Fillmore (R) House
Judah Nativio (R) House
Adam Stevens (R) House
Kelly Townsend (R) House

District 17

Steven Weichert (D) Senate
Steve Yarbrough (R) Senate
Jennifer Pawlik (D) House
J.D. Mesnard (R) House
Jeff Weninger (R) House

District 18

Sean Bowie (D) Senate
Jeff Dial (R) Senate
Frank Schmuck (R) Senate
Denise “Mitzi” Epstein (D) House
Jill Norgaard (R) House
Bob Robson (R) House
Linda Macias (GRN) House

District 19

Guadalupe “Lupe” Contreras (D) Senate
Mark Cardenas (D) House
Jose Espinoza (D) House

District 20

Larry Herrera (D) Senate
Kimberly Yee (R) Senate
Doug Quelland (IND) Senate – only on general election ballot
Christopher “Chris” Gilfillan (D) House
Paul Boyer (R) House
Anthony Kern (R) House

District 21

Debbie Lesko ( R) Senate
Deanna Rasmussen-Lacotta (D) House
Kevin Payne (R) House
Jose Rivero (R) House

District 22

Michael Muscato (D) Senate
Judy Burges (R) Senate
Manuel Hernandez (D) House
David Livingston (R) House
Phil Lovas (R) House

District 23

John Kavanagh (R) Senate
Tammy Caputi (D) House
Jay Lawrence (R) House
Michelle Ugenti-Rita (R) House
Robert Lettieri (R) House

District 24

Katie Hobbs (D) Senate
Lela Alston (D) House
Ken Clark (D) House

District 25

Robert Worsley (R) Senate
Itasca Small (R) Senate write-in candidate
Kathleen Rahn (D) House
Rusty Bowers (R) House
Michelle Udall (R) House
Ross Groen (R) House

District 26

Juan Mendez (D) Senate
David Lucier (D) Senate
Chris Will (LIB) Senate write-in candidate
Michael Martinez (D) House
Athena Salman (D) House
isela Blanc (D) House
Celeste Plumlee (D) House
Steven Adkins (R) House
Cara Trujillo (GRN) House

District 27

Catherine Miranda (D) Senate
Maritza Miranda Saenz (D) Senate
David Braun (D) House
Reginald Bolding (D) House
Rebecca Rios (D) House
Edward Blackwell (D) House
David Speer (D) House

District 28

Eric Meyer (D) Senate
Kate Brophy McGee (R) Senate
Kelli Butler (D) House
Kenneth Bowers (R) House
Mary Hamway (R) House
Matthew Morales (R) House
Alberto Gutier (R) House
Maria Syms (R) House

District 29

Martín Quezada (D) Senate
Lydia Hernandez (D) Senate
Crystal Nuttle (R) Senate
Richard Andrade (D) House
Ceci Velasquez (D) House
Rosa Cantu (D) House
Cesar Chavez (D) House
Roberto Alfaro (R) House
John Wilson (R) House

District 30

Robert Meza (D) Senate
John Lyon (R) Senate
Jonathan Larkin (D) House
Ray Martinez (D) House
Otoniel “Tony” Navarrete (D) House
Gary Cox (R) House


Tom Chabin (D)
Bill Mundell (D)
Robert Burns (R)
Richard “Rick” Gray (R)
Al Melvin (R)
Andy Tobin (R)
Boyd Dunn (R)


Ann Kirkpatrick (D)
John McCain (R)
Alexander “Alex” Meluskey (R)
Clair Van Steenwyk (R)
Kelli Ward (R)
Frank Tamburri (LIB)


District 1

Tom O’Halleran (D)
Miguel Olivas (D)
Paul Babeu (R)
Carlyle Begay (R)
Ken Bennett (R)
David Gowan (R)
Gary Kiehne (R)
Shawn Redd (R)
Wendy Rogers (R)

District 2

Matthew Heinz (D)
Victoria Steele (D)
Martha McSally (R)

District 3

Raúl Grijalva (D)
Edna San Miguel (R)

District 4

Mikel Weisser (D)
Paul Gosar (R)
Raymond “Ray” Strauss (R)

District 5

Talia Fuentes (D)
Kinsey Remaklus (D)
Andy Biggs (R)
Justin Olson (R)
Don Stapely (R)
Christine Jones (R)

District 6

Walter John Williamson (D)
Brian Sinuk (D)
Aaron Sutton (D)
David Schweikert (R)
Russ Wittenberg (R)

District 7

Ruben Gallego (D)
Gustavo Ortega (D)
Evangeline “Eve” Nunez (R)
Joe Cobb (LIB) write-in candidate

District 8

Trent Franks (R)
Claire Van Steenwyk (R)
Richard Grayson (GRN) write-in candidate

District 9

Kyrsten Sinema (D)
John Agra (R)
David Giles (R)

Previous article“Ready to Go” with Tanque Verde Valley Democrats
Next articleCitizens Clean Elections Legislative Debate Schedule
AZ BlueMeanie
The Blue Meanie is an Arizona citizen who wishes, for professional reasons, to remain anonymous when blogging about politics. Armed with a deep knowledge of the law, politics and public policy, as well as pen filled with all the colors stolen from Pepperland, the Blue Meanie’s mission is to pursue and prosecute the hypocrites, liars, and fools of politics and the media – which, in practical terms, is nearly all of them. Don’t even try to unmask him or he’ll seal you in a music-proof bubble and rendition you to Pepperland for a good face-stomping. Read blog posts by the infamous and prolific AZ Blue Meanie here.