SWAG list of candidates for 2016


ArizonaIt’s that time of year when everyone in the media is doing lists, so it is time for the “Silly Wild Ass Guess” (SWAG) list of candidates who are running for office in the Arizona Legislature, the Arizona Corporation Commission, and Congress in 2016. The list of candidates who have already filed, according to the Arizona Secretary of State web site, are listed below. (Federal candidates are filed with the FEC). I will periodically update the list as time permits to add candidates who file between now and the filing deadline.

UPDATE:  You can Sign a Candidate Petition or Give $5 Qualifying Contribution at the E-Qual page of the Arizona Secretary of State‘s web site.


District 1

Karen Fann (R) Senate
Noel Campbell (R) House
Arlo “Chip” Davis (R) House
David Stringer (R) House

District 2

Andrea Dalessandro (D) Senate
Shelly Kais (R) Senate
Aaron Baumann (D) House
Rosanna Gabaldon (D) House
John Ackerley (R) House

District 3

Olivia Cajero Bedford ( D) Senate
Macario Saldate (D) House

District 4

Lisa Otondo (D) Senate
Margaret Lynne Pancrazi (D) Senate
Charlene Fernandez (D) House
Jesus Rubalcava (D) House
Jose Suarez (D) House
Richard Hopkins (R) House

District 5

Sonny Borelli (R) Senate
Ron Gould (R) Senate
Janice Palmer (Other) Senate
Beth Weisser (D) House
Regina Cobb (R) House
Paul Mosley (R) House

District 6

Nichole Bagley (D) Senate
Sylvia Allen (R) Senate
Brenda Barton (R) House
Robert Thorpe (R) House

District 7

Jamescita Peshlakai (D) Senate
Carlyle Begay (R) Senate

District 8

Barbara McGuire (D) Senate
Frank Pratt (R) Senate
Carmen Casillas (D) House
Darla Dawald (R) House
Thomas Shope (R) House
Rey Torres (R) House

District 9

Steve Farley (D) Senate
Michael O’Neil (Other) Senate
Randall Friese ( D) House
Pamela Powers Hannley (D) House
Ana Henderson (R) House

District 10

David Bradley ( D) Senate
William Wildish (R) Senate
Kirsten Engel (D) House
Courtney Frogge (D) House
Stefanie Mach (D) House
Todd Clodfelter (R) House

District 11

Steve Smith (R) Senate
Corin Hammond (D) House
Barry McCain (D) House
Mark Finchem (R) House
Vince Leach (R) House

District 12

Andy Biggs (R) Senate
Eddie Farnsworth (R) House
Warren Peterson (R) House

District 13

Anthony Gier (R) Senate
William Gonzalez (R) Senate
Steve Montenegro (R) Senate
Ray Kouns (R) House
Darin Mitchell (R) House
Don Shooter (R) House

District 14

Gail Griffin (R) Senate
Mike Holmes (D) House
Dennis Barger (R) House
Drew John (R) House
Becky Ann Nutt (R) House
Anthony Sizer (R) House

District 15

Nancy Barto (R) Senate
John Allen (R) House
Heather Carter (R) House

District 16

David Farnsworth (R) Senate
Scott Prior (D) Senate
Cara Lee Prior (D) House
Sharon Stinard (D) House
Mara Benson (R) House
Douglas Coleman (R) House
John Fillmore (R) House
Judah Nativio (R) House
Adam Stevens (R) House
Kelly Townsend (R) House

District 17

Steve Yarbrough (R) Senate
J.D. Mesnard (R) House
Jeff Weninger (R) House

District 18

Sean Bowie (D) Senate
Jeff Dial (R) Senate
Denise “Mitzi” Epstein (D) House
Jill Norgaard (R) House
Bob Robson (R) House

District 19

Guadalupe Contreras ( D) Senate
Mark Cardenas ( D) House
Jose Espinoza (D) House

District 20

Kimberly Yee (R) Senate
Doug Quelland (Other) Senate
Christopher Gilfillan (D) House
Patty Kennedy (D) House
Paul Boyer (R) House
Anthony Kern (R) House

District 21

Debbie Lesko ( R) Senate
Kevin Payne (R) House
Jose Rivero (R) House

District 22

Judy Burges (R) Senate
David Livingston (R) House
Phil Lovas (R) House

District 23

John Kavanagh (R) Senate
Tammy Caputi (D) House
Jay Lawrence (R) House
Michelle Ugenti-Rita (R) House

District 24

Katie Hobbs (D) Senate
Hartley Stephen (R) Senate
Lela Alston (D) House
Ken Clark (D) House
Daniel Cassidy (R) House
Joseph Kremer (Other) House – exploratory committee

District 25

Rusty Bowers (R) House
Justin Olson (R) House

District 26

Andrew Sherwood (D) Senate
Juan Mendez (D) Senate
David Lucier (D) House
Michael Martinez (D ) House
Steve Muratore (D) House
Cameron Oberlin (D) House
Athena Salman (D) House

District 27

Aaron Marquez (D) Senate
Catherine Miranda (D) Senate
David Braun ( D) House
Reginald Bolding ( D) House
Rebecca Rios (D) House
Myron Jackson (R) House
Bruce Lindquist (R) House

District 28

Eric Meyer (D) Senate
Adam Driggs (R) Senate
Jason Parsons (Other) Senate
Kelli Butler ( D) House
Kate Brophy McGee (D) House
Scott Nielson (D) House
Kenneth Bowers ( R) House
Mary Hamway (R) House
Matthew Morales (R) House
Brice Willoughby (R) House

District 29

Martín Quezada (D) Senate
Richard Andrade (D) House
Ceci Velasquez (D) House

District 30

Robert Meza (D) Senate
Jonathan Larkin (D) House
Gary Cox ( R) House


Robert Burns (R)
Edward Cook ( R) exploratory committee
Rick Gray (R)
Al Melvin (R)


Leonard Clark (D)
Ann Kirkpatrick (D)
John McCain (R)
Scott Leslie McBean (R)
Alexander Meluskey (R)
David Pizer (R)
Clair Van Steenwyk (R)
Kelli Ward (R)
Joanne Lopez-Cervantez (IND)
John Lewis Mealer (IND)
Patrick Quinn (IND)


District 1

Tom O’Halleran (D)
Miguel Olivas (D)
James Maloney (D)
Paul Babeu (R)
Ken Bennett (R)
David Gowan (R)
Gary Kiehne (R)
Shawn Redd (R)

District 2

Matthew Heinz (D)
Victoria Steele (D)
Martha McSally (R)

District 3

Raúl Grijalva (D)
Edna San Miguel (R)

District 4

Paul Gosar (R)
Raymond Strauss (R)

District 5

Matt Salmon ( R)

District 6

David Schweikert (R)
rumored to be considering running for Senate

District 7

Ruben Gallego (D)
Cesar Chavez (D) fna Scott Fistler (R)

District 8

Derek Armstrong-Stoner (D)
Trent Franks ( R)

District 9

Kyrsten Sinema (D)
David Giles (R)

Previous articleTwo upcoming concerts by Tucson Repertory Orchestra on Jan. 2
Next article2016 Election Calendar
AZ BlueMeanie
The Blue Meanie is an Arizona citizen who wishes, for professional reasons, to remain anonymous when blogging about politics. Armed with a deep knowledge of the law, politics and public policy, as well as pen filled with all the colors stolen from Pepperland, the Blue Meanie’s mission is to pursue and prosecute the hypocrites, liars, and fools of politics and the media – which, in practical terms, is nearly all of them. Don’t even try to unmask him or he’ll seal you in a music-proof bubble and rendition you to Pepperland for a good face-stomping. Read blog posts by the infamous and prolific AZ Blue Meanie here.


  1. Term limits in AZ just send some guys back and forth from the House to the Senate and vice versa.
    I’d love to see these career legislators defeated who have dragged Arizona into the dirt for years, with lots of funding for prisons and tax cuts and so little for education:
    Steve Yarbrough since 2002
    Andy Biggs since since 2002
    John Kavanagh since 2007.
    And please, no more Sylvia Allen. (2008)

  2. Heard that Daniel Hernandez Jr. is considering bid for House in LD 2. He’s currently sitting on Sunnyside School Bd.

Comments are closed.