Action Alert on Gov. Brewer’s Medicaid (AHCCCS) Restoration Plan

Posted by AzBlueMeanie:

The Arizona Democratic Party has an action alert for public testimony on Gov. Jan Brewer's Medicaid (AHCCCS) Restoration Plan in the House Appropriations Committee today at 2:00 p.m. (starting later because of its chairman, Rep. John Kavanagh  – see previous post).

From:
Frank Camacho
ADP Communications Director
fcamacho@azdem.org

Please contact all your networks and encourage them to call and/or email their state representative demanding they vote YES on Medicaid expansion. The first real test comes next Wednesday the 20th when the House Appropriations Committee holds an “informational” hearing on the proposal to expand the program.

As of today, the committee will take public testimony. So if you are able and willing we encourage you to attend and let your voice be heard. For those of you who are planning to attend the hearing and wish to speak, here is the link to the electronic check-in system at the legislature. It is fairly simple. Just follow the instructions.
http://alistrack.azleg.gov/rts/login.asp
 
Also it is important that we keep track of how many phone calls and emails lawmakers are receiving on this issue. So please contact Frank Camacho whenever anyone in your network calls or sends an email. Let’s flood the capitol with emails and phone calls.


  
We are including a list of talking points. But remember, your comments will be most effective if they are sincere. So the words and emotion must come from your heart.  Remember, when appropriate begin your phone call or email with” I am a resident of your district.”  That does make an impact.

Talking Points

  • According to the Governor’s office and AHCCS, Medicaid expansion means anywhere from 250,000 to as many as 400,000 Arizonans will receive health care coverage.
  • According to the White House, Medicaid expansion means an additional $8 Billion to the state budget over the next four years.
  • According to a study by the W.P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University, Medicaid expansion will create 25,000 new jobs in Arizona.
  • According to the University of Arizona’s Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, Arizona has one of the highest rates of uncompensated care and uninsured residents in the country.
  • According to the Center for American Progress Action Fund, the cost of uncompensated care adds $1,700 annually to the average insurance premium paid by Arizona families.
  • Finally and most importantly, Expanding Medicaid will save lives and is the Right Thing to Do.

House Appropriations Committee Members

 Members

District 

 Email Address

 Phone Number

 Chairman Rep. John Kavanagh (R)  23  jkavanagh@azleg.gov  602-926-5170
 Vice Chairman Rep. Justin Olson (R)  25  jolson@azleg.gov  602-926-5288
 Rep. Lela Alston (D)  24  lalston@azleg.gov  602-926-5829
 Rep. Paul Boyer (R)  20  pboyer@azleg.gov  602-926-4173
 Rep. Chad Campbell (D)  24  chcampbell@azleg.gov  602-926-3026
 Rep. Thomas Forese (R)  17  tforese@azleg.gov  602-926-5168
 Rep. Rick Gray (R)  21  rgray@azleg.gov  602-926-5993
 Rep. Adam Kwasman (R)  11  akwasman@azleg.gov  602-926-5839
 Rep. Stefanie Mach (D)  10  smach@azleg.gov  602-926-3398
 Rep. Andrew Sherwood (D)  26 sherwood@azleg.gov

 602-926-3028

 Rep. Michelle Ugenti (R)  23  mugenti@azleg.gov  602-926-4480

Pima County Legislative Representatives

Members

District

Email Address

Phone Number

Rep. Andrea Dalessandro (D) 2 adalessandro@azleg.gov 602-926-5342
Rep. Rosanna Gabaldon (D) 2 rgabaldon@azleg.gov 602-926-3424
Rep. Sally Ann Gonzales (D) 3 sgonzales@azleg.gov 602-926-3278
Rep. Macario Saldate IV (D) 3 msaldate@azleg.gov 602-926-4171
Rep. Victoria Steele (D) 9 vsteele@azleg.gov 602-926-5683
Rep. Ethan Orr (R) 9 eorr@azleg.gov 602-926-3235
Rep. Stefanie Mach (D) 10 smach@azleg.gov 602-926-3398
Rep. Bruce Wheeler (D) 10 bwheeler@azleg.gov 602-926-3300

Appropriations Committee meets Wednesday at 2pm. House Hearing Room 1.
Arizona State Capitol at 1700 W. Washington in Phoenix.

Let your voice be heard. It’s for the best of causes.  You could be saving someone’s life.
 
Thanks for all you do.

Frank Camacho

Comments are closed.