Tucson City Council & Mayoral candidate forum at YWCA of Southern Arizona


City of Tucson Council Wards 1, 2, and 4 and the Mayor’s office are up for election on Nov. 5, 2019:


Meet the candidates at this upcoming forum on Sept. 26.


Independent Ed Ackerley, political newcomer

Green Mike Cease, ran for Ward 6 Council in 2017

Democrat Regina Romero, Ward 1 Councilmember (3 terms)

Ward 1:
Republican Sam Nagy, political newcomer

Democrat Lane Santa Cruz, political newcomer

Green Mathew Smith, political newcomer

Ward 2:
Democrat Councilmember Paul Cunningham, incumbent (2 terms)

Green William Peterson, political newcomer

Republican Ewart Williams, political newcomer

Ward 4:

Green Cara Bissell, political newcomer,

Republican Michael Hicks, former TUSD Board member

Democrat Nikki Lee, ran for LD 10 House in 2018

Vote wisely on or before Nov. 5, 2019.



  1. This forum tonight started off with the Council candidates, all 8 present except for Mathew Smith in Ward 1. Selected responses of 3 each were heard from the questions asked, so not representative of all the candidates. Prepared questions were what is unique about your ward, how find balance between economic development with sustainable Old Pueblo culture & environment, what are new ways to partner with local educators & organizations to support & improve workplace pipeline? Audience questions to the Council candidates were how reach out to youth in underserved populations, do you agree/disagree with ACLU of AZ statement in support of Prop. 205, that there is” deep seated problem with racial profiling”(including TPD), how address climate change in the community. Lane Santa Cruz said she was in support of Prop. 205.
    Then the 3 Mayoral candidates answered questions: same question about economic development and Old Pueblo culture, same question about workforce pipeline, do you support City’s relationship with Mexico? Questions from audience were if they supported last week’s youth in their climate march/strike, how to fix the City’s roads, how address homelessness and substance abuse.
    Candidate Ackerley’s nephew former LD 2 Rep. Chris Ackerley also present, along with 75 people.

Comments are closed.