2012 starts now – Redistricting Commission applicants being reviewed

by Craig McDermott, cross-posted from Random Musings

I can hear the groans of "What?  2010 isn't even over yet!" already

The list of applicants for the Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission is available.  The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments will screen the applicants, nominating 25 out of the 79.  Out of those 25, five will actually be appointed – 2 Ds, 2 Rs, and 1 Independent.

The press release in its entirety –

The public is being asked for comments on 79 applicants for Arizona’s Independent Redistricting Commission, which will oversee the mapping of Arizona’s congressional and legislative districts in 2011.

The Arizona constitution directs the Commission on Appellate Court Appointments to review the applications and by January 8 to nominate 25 people to serve. Four elected officials will appoint the first four members of the Redistricting Commission. The fifth member will be chosen by the four members appointed to the commission.

No more than two members of the Redistricting Commission can be members of the same political party.  Of the first four appointed, no more than two can be residents of the same county.  Among the applicants there are 31 Republicans, 31 Democrats, and 17 Independents. Applications were received from 11 of Arizona’s 15 counties.

An alphabetical list of all applicants follows. Lists are also available by political affiliation or county by calling (602) 452-3311 or at the nomination website, http://www.arizonaredistricting-nominations.com/.

The applications will be reviewed at a public meeting on November 16. The meeting will be held at the Arizona State Courts Building in Phoenix, 1501 W. Washington, Conf. Rm. 345, beginning at 10:00 a.m. Citizens may address the Appellate Commission at that time or send written comments to 1501 W. Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ 85007. Written comments must be received by November 10 to be considered.

The Appellate Commission may vote on nominations for the Redistricting Commission at the November 16 meeting or at a later meeting.


Allmon, Kathleen Patricia

Ashton, Marc

Bates, Gary

Bender, Paul

Bladine, Raymond Frank

Broderson, Gerald C.

Broome, Beth Frances

Bruner, Jim

Busching, Marcia J.

Cafarelli, Eugene Joseph

Campos-Outcalt, Doug

Cannon, Robert Lawrence

Castle, Catherine

Charlson, Gary W.

Clark, Andrew

Collins, Thomas E.

Daggett, David Colby

De Leon, Louis Armando

Dickman, Frances Baker

Echeveste, Adolfo P.

Ehre, Stephen Jon

Francisco, Warren Barton

Freeman, Scott Day

Gallagher, Richard

Genna, Ignazio Edward

Gibson, Bonnie

Gleason, Christopher Mark

Gonzales, Luis Armando

Goronkin, Pamela Louise

Harowitz, David James

Hatton, Patricia Ann

Henderson, Eric Bryce

Herrera, José Manuel

Howell, Adrienne Y.

Inks, Peter Alfred

Johnson, Karl Joseph

Keck, John Martin

Kuby, Michael

Kuttner Ludwig G.

Lanning, Kimber Layne

LeSueur, Daniel M.

Littleton, Steven Johnson

Lucero, Frank A.

Mapstead, Jim

Martin, Elizabeth Louise

Mathis, Coleen Coyle

McNulty, Linda C.

McWhortor, Patrick

Miller, Jeffrey D.

Mills, Karen R.

Mohrweis, Lawrence Charles

Moore, James Harvey

Morrison, Todd Arnold

Narwid, Thomas A.

Overton, Timothy Warren

Perry, Micahel Reddick

Roe, William Garfitt

Rubin, Mark David

Russell, Crystal A.

Schnepf, Mark Edward

Schorr, S.L. "Si"

Schwalbe, Leslie Ann

Searles, William Aaron Montano

Shelton, John Michael

Shultz, Susan Fried

Silva, Margarita

Smith, Jimmie Dee

Smith, Ross Alan

Sossaman, Stephen J.

Spears, Linda

Stertz, Richard

Switsky, Terry June

Urias, Sr., Rodolfo Guerrero

Walker, Valerie

Werner, Lynn

White, Benny E.

Williams, Christian Moore

Winzer, Kimulet Wardie

Worden, Marshall A.

The applications can be viewed here.

The Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission's website is here.

The Arizona Judicial Nominating Commissions' website is here. (The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments is one of the JNCs.)

Comments are closed.