President-Elect Joe Biden and Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris continue to create a White House staff and cabinet that looks like America.

Today, they announced their historic White House Communications Team.


It is historic because they are all women. 

The Biden/Harris White House Communications Team Members are:

  • Elizabeth Alexander: Communications Director for Dr. Jill Biden.
  • Kate Bedingfield: White House Communications Director.
  • Ashley Etienne: Communications Director for Vice President-Elect Harris.
  • Karine Jean-Pierre: Principal Deputy Press Secretary.
  • Jen Psaki: White House Press Secretary.
  • Symone Sanders: Senior Advisor and Chief Spokesperson for the Vice President.
  • Pili Tobar: Deputy White House Press Secretary.

Please click here to read the team’s biographies.

In making these announcements, President-Elect Biden stated:

“Communicating directly and truthfully to the American people is one of the most important duties of a President, and this team will be entrusted with the tremendous responsibility of connecting the American people to the White House. I am proud to announce today the first senior White House communications team comprised entirely of women. These qualified, experienced communicators bring diverse perspectives to their work and a shared commitment to building this country back better.”

Vice President-Elect Harris wrote:

“Our country is facing unprecedented challenges–from the coronavirus pandemic to the economic crisis, to the climate crisis, and a long-overdue reckoning over racial injustice. To overcome these challenges, we need to communicate clearly, honestly, and transparently with the American people, and this experienced, talented, and barrier-shattering team will help us do that. These communications professionals express our commitment to building a White House that reflects the very best of our nation.”

Incoming White House Chief of Staff Ron Klain relayed:

“Today’s appointees are respected communicators with a breadth of experience and a strong commitment to serving the American people. President-elect Biden has a history of advocating on behalf of women in the U.S and around the world and today’s announcement is a continuation of that work, elevating this dynamic team of leaders to senior White House positions. They embody Joe Biden’s commitment to a diverse administration where the voices of all Americans are represented.”

Please click here to review the current composition of the White House Staff.

Seventeen of the Twenty Three announced positions will be filled by women.

Furthermore, according to multiple sources like the New York Times, ReutersWashington Post, and the Hill, the President-Elect and Vice President-Elect will be announcing several members to their economics team on Tuesday.

Those possibly include:

  • Heather Boushey: Member of the Council of Economic Advisors.
  • Cecilia Rouse: Chair of the Council of Economic Advisors.
  • Neera Tanden: Director of the Office of Management and Budget.
  • Janet Yellin: Secretary of Treasury.
  • Adewale “Wally” Adeyemo: Deputy Treasury Secretary.
  • Jared Bernstein: Member of the Council of Economic Advisors.
  • Brian Deese: head of the National Economic Security Council.

One thing is certain.

This White House team and cabinet, unlike the current Administration, will look like the people they represent and serve.

That is a welcome change.